Posted by: bellebelle | May 15, 2006

I’m not pretty, I’m Beautiful!

Pretty – the word often used to describe a princess in fairy tales; an actress on a magazine cover; someone or something attractive, in a graceful and delicate way.

Like many other human beings, we constantly sought the approval of others. We often thought, “If I could be like them, I would be pretty”.

My mom came for a visit. The door opened and KeXin popped in. a smile brightened her cute face as she called our names. Being the “Mr. Cool”, my brother doesn’t like children. But he played with her, and made her giggle so much. Beautiful.

On another day in church, I saw Gabriel held his niece on his arms. Never had I seen him dealing so well with children. Reminds me of my ‘Mr. Cool”. Therefore, I guarantee the smile and fun is 100% genuine. Beautiful.

One day, I flunked a subject. It was a dreadful hit, but I had enough time and self-control to be cool about the issue. With very much regret and repentance, I’ve decided to take it again, and this time, much seriously and cautious. Instead of making fun of my silliness, my friends came forward to console my wounded heart. My lecturer did not condemn me. Instead, he was easy going and the trust was like… wow, wonderful. The hugs, attention, smile and laughter… beautiful.

About 3 years ago, on a break from seminars, I went with my trusty umbrella to the bus which heads the way home. It was raining cats and dogs, but I was pretty much protected by my umbrella. I held a pretty one, light purple colored limited edition ladies umbrella. I liked it because it is user friendly, small and handy… fits well in my not-too-big school bag, serves well as an umbrella. Very much I was consuming bout the prettiness of my umbrella, I saw this girl which is wet all over her body. “She must be freezing cold”, I thought. While waiting for the traffic light to turn green, I stood next to her and used my umbrella as a roof for both of us. Definitely, the small umbrella could not fit well for the two of us. Then, I held her shoulders and we walked across the street. I assume she’s going to take the bus at the opposite street of mine. She was shocked and thankful for my offer. Shocked, because neither will I expected for a stranger to offer me a lift during a rainy day. Nothing better to do? But I felt wonderful after that deed. Although we were both wet and cold, but the heart is pretty much warmed. I thought the scene was… Beautiful.

God’s love is wonderful, because He was willing to come to me when my heart is pouring rain. He shoo away the lightning, and helped me shun the frightening thunderstorms. He guided me to overcome obstacles and made me gain new experience. He gave me all the strength to raise up smiles even on tough and weary times. He was willing to come to me in all my garbage and sin – because he loved me – to just hold me. Beautiful.

Ever stop to think about God’s definition of beautiful? Selfless love, endless hope, solid faith, a servant’s heart. If I were to take time to think of all the garbage I convey in my actions and words, it would be scary. Am I for real? If I’m in love with God, people need to see it more than just attendance at church. They need to see a life reflecting what Jesus continues to do daily in my life. They need to see someone who can’t wait to talk to God, who is hungry for His Word. They need to see someone who is willing to reach out to the poor and needy.

We may all feel imperfect at times, but the next time you are comparing the way you look to someone else, or glaring at your spectacles or braces, walk away from that mirror! Shut the magazines and advertisements that say you will look pretty only if you look the right way. Just shut your eyes and listen.

More precious than any fairy tale is this truth: my Prince has spoken, so does yours.

Jeremiah 1:5a

“Before I formed you in the womb I knew you”

All of us were “fearfully and wonderfully made”. Click Psalm 139:14. He is so in love with you!

Now, because of Him… you are not just pretty, you are Beautiful!!

a special prayer

Dear God, take my heart and make it Your own. Help me to stop concentrating so much on what others think. Instead, help me to base my life and values on what You think. I want to know You, Lord! In Jesus’ name I pray, Amen.

Leave a Reply

Categories

