Posted by: bellebelle | October 12, 2006

Supergirl in Training

Ying looked into my planner. with her eyes stretched wide, she said, “you have a crazy schedule.”

yeah, sometimes i myself, pondered.. how on earth could i have enough time to get them done?

it is by then.. i found this woman in the Bible which does a hundread & one thing everyday in her life, with enough time, with enough energy.. without grumbling.

Proverbs 31:10-31 Hymn to a Good Wife (click!)

to become this woman, it’s not going to be an easy task. she cooks, she cleans, she sews, she plants, she has a career, she loves people, people love her, she has plenty of time for everything! (because she gets up early)

i wanted to learn how to be a virtous, godly woman. in order to do that, i would have to let God shape my heart like His own. God has shown me, instead of trying to become superwoman.. taking time to be with my friends & family, sincerely care for them, do my assignments & projects, & still had time to run every day. instead of becoming superwoman, the secret to becoming a godly person.. is to be more like Christ.

Easy to be said than done, but God reassured me, “Yes, all you need to do is to believe me.”

Isaiah 43:10
“You are my witnesses,” declares the LORD,
“and my servant whom I have chosen,
so that you may know and believe me
and understand that I am he.
Before me no god was formed,
nor will there be one after me.

yeah, when i’m walking to class, when i’m at home with my family, when i’m around people i care deeply about, or even when i’m with people i don’t know, i can exercise this Christ-like heart! all i need to do is to believe truthfully that, i am His chosen one.

while the “proverbs 31 woman” did everything from clothing her servants in fine linen to planting vineyards, the Bible leaves out a few things about her. it doesn’t tell us if she was physically beautiful, but it does say that she was strong & worked vigorously. her true beauty was in her eelationship with God. her relationship with Him was so strong it literally poured out into her everyday life.

proverbs 17:22
A cheerful heart is good medicine,
but a crushed spirit dries up the bones.

allowing God to have a room in my heart, allowing Him to work inside me to mold that heart into His own has left me with a bright hope. maybe being the Proverbs 31 woman isn’t so elusive after all.

look at the amount of assignments waiting to be done, meetings in queue, people to meet, events to attend, plans to be drafted, mails to read, and some broken promises.. i had a little feeling of being sorrowful & yeah, i felt tired. with my limited strength & wisdom, definitely i couldn’t get them done & be able to put up a gentle smile on my face. most probably i would sit aside & grumble, “i’m so busy.”

it’s not about ME. because day after day, i still have the 101 things to be done.

if i see MYSELF as someone so important, that i need to priotirize everything & focus only on myself, i would certainly be so selfish & nobody would ever liked my smiles, i would certainly not be bubbly & jumps around caring for those who are dear to me.

it’s about God, & everything He promised. because of Him, i am able to get things settled with a cheerful heart. because of Him, i learn to count my blessings & rarely complaint about what i need to go through. because of Him, i am loved.

all i have will give Him praise. because, the world can’t stop me living his way.

Responses

  1. i think the supergirl will no doubt one day grow from a girl to a godly woman, one whose beauty is in the eyes of God
    but there’s much more to life’s challenges she’ll face in time to come..
    she’ll has to overcome the challenges, removes the barriers, which may well require sacrifice
    i cant help but feel, i’m lookin at a little girl who tries to project herself as a someone who is mature way beyond her age which might not necessary be the case
    not that she wanna show off or what, but simply becoz she wants to do her best for God, for the people in her life and herself
    perhaps, she wanna tell God she dun wanna be a regular spiritual joe

    she wanna commit herself to him and his family
    perhaps, she wants Him to remind her of this commitment when things r goin tough and there’s a feelin of wantin to back away from those esp christians who care about her
    Nevertheless, it’s heartening to see the little girl tellin God her desire of wantin to make a difference in the world, placing herself in his hands and ask him to reshape her in His image
    For sure, God also yearns to bring balance into the Supergirl’s life.
    I guess she oughta constantly ask God to help her assess her time spent in leisure activities and her time with Him
    so much for a granma story..hehe, pardon me if it’s a bit long winded


Leave a Reply

Categories

